Habbakuk   (de|en) 

Peter Behrbohm and Anton Steenbock
intervention / performance
made possible with Help of the Theaterhaus Jena
photography: Markus Bühler and Vincci Ong
Jena, April - June 2018

Part I - monitoring station
metal garage, wood , coniferes, antennas, hammocks, radar, radio device, surveillance cameras, loudspeaker, periscope, flag
6,0 x 6,0 x 8,0m

Teil II - observation vehicle
aluminum, wood, stone grout, caterpillar drive, motors, accumulators, tractor seats
2,3 x 3,0 x 1,6m


Under the guise of a regular German double garage a monitoring station is erected overnight. With the help of various instruments on the rooftop (a periscope, cameras, microphones, smart devices, radar and radio device, ...) any activities of the surrounding environment are recorded and evaluated by experts on a terminal inside. A vehicle disguised as a pile of sand and emitting loud pidgeons currs leaves the garage every day to conduct inconspicuous observation rides within the neighborhood.

A one-storey building recently appeared near the theater of Jena. It is so inconspicuous, you almost missed it. But something is not right. The house reminds the passersby of both - a double garage and a transformer house or even a research station. Spray plaster, flat roof, six by six meters. To one side two large shutters, on the roof strange objects. Are these antennas? Head over - the flag of the Federal Republic of Germany. From the inside, there is an excited babble of voices, sometimes it seems as if someone behind the tin walls works until the night without ceasing. Gearhead? Small gardener? Terrorists? Glaciologists? Who are they and what are they doing in there? Has the pretty front yard been there already yesterday? This building seems to breed.

Suddenly a heap causes unrest in the city. Various people claim to have seen a small sand pit at different times of the day, which clandestinely moves through the city.

 

__________________________________________________ _____________

 

 

  

 
 





 





“He sneakes a few meters, then he stops behind the corner of the house as if nothing had happened,” says a local resident. Others report loud pidgeon calls in the pedestrian zone, that seem to derrive from a small mountain. What on earth is he planning to do, the heap, and why did he choose Jena?

In 1998, there have already been some noises coming from another garage in the suburbs of Jena. Inside - two gentlemen and a young woman were working on a box, which they set off a little later at night in front of the theater of the city, exactly where we set up the strange building exactly 20 years later, half surveillance station, half double garage.The box turned out to be a bomb, missing a detonator. As police officers storm their garage in 1998, the bomb makers go underground. Under observation and strange protection of the V-agents of the constitutional protection they begin to murder foreigners throughout Germany in the following years. When they blew their cover the group becomes known internationally as “National Socialist Underground”.

Habbakuk plays with references to suburban Germany as well as its recent history. While all its elements are dangerously ordinary. they act against  expectation and raise questions. What else might be happening in German basements and garages? Which dangers poses what is closest to us? Who does clandestinely take care of my safety? Can I trust them? Should I take care or rather be thankful? Does this world slowly militarize? The hypernormal architecture leaves the passersby in the dark.

 

__________________________________________________ ___________

                 

               
                                                  

 


                          
              
                    __________________________________________________ _____________        
top view
    
       monitoring station - view from south   details: rooftop instruments (radar, loudspeaker, radio transmitter, anti-climb-paint)       monitoring station - view from north
           monitoring station - interior view       officers on patrol at the periscope

                            undercover operation in the streets of Jena

         

 

   
 
     

                                                     Elevations, Sections

Habbakuk   (de|en) 

Peter Behrbohm und Anton Steenbock
Intervention / Performance
ermöglicht durch das Theaterhaus Jena
Fotos: Markus Bühler und Vincci Ong
Jena, April - Juni 2018

Teil I - Überwachungsstation
Blechgarage, Holz, Koniferen, Antennen, Hängematten, Radargerät, Funkgerät, Überwachungskameras, Lautsprecher, Periskop, Flagge
6,0 x 6,0 x 8,0m

Teil II - Observationsvehikel
Aluminium, Holz, Buntsteinputz, Raupenfahrwerk, Motoren, Akkumulatoren, Traktorsitze
2,3 x 3,0 x 1,6m


Für einen Zeitraum von zwei Monaten wird in Jena eine Überwachungsstation im Deckmantel einer Doppelgarage errichtet. Mit Hilfe verschiedener Aufbauten (Periskop, Kameras, Mikrophon, Smart-Devices, Radar- und Funkgerät, ...) werden jegliche Aktivitäten der nähren Umgebung erfasst und von Sachverständigen im Inneren der Garage an einem Terminal ausgewertet. Ein als Sandhaufen getarntes Vehikel welches lautes Traubengurren von sich gibt, verlässt dabei täglich die Garage um in der nahegelegenen Innenstadt unauffällige Observations-fahrten durchzuführen.

Ein einstöckiges Gebäude steht seit kurzem unweit des Theaters in Jena. Es ist so unscheinbar, fast hätte man es übersehen. Doch irgendetwas stimmt nicht. Das Haus erinnert gleichzeitig an Doppelgarage, Trafohäuschen und Forschungsstation. Spritzputz, Flachdach, sechs mal sechs Meter. Zu einer Seite zwei große Rolltore, auf dem Dach seltsame Objekte. Sind das Antennen? Kopfüber weht die Flagge der Bundesrepublik. Aus dem Inneren dringt aufgeregtes Stimmengewirr, mal scheint es,als würde jemand hinter den Blechwänden bis in die Nacht ohne Unterlass arbeiten. Autoschrauber? Kleingärtner? Terroristen? Glaziologen? Wer sind die und was treiben die da drinnen? Dieses Gebäudescheint zu brüten.

Und dann sorgt in der Stadt auf einmal ein Haufen für Unruhe. Unterschiedliche Leute wollen zu verschiedenen Tageszeiten einen kleinen Sandberg gesehen haben, der sich klammheimlich durch die Stadt bewegt.

 

__________________________________________________ _____________

 

 

  

 
 





 





„Er huscht ein paar Meter, dann bleibt er hinter der Häuserecke stehen, als wäre nichts gewesen.“, meint eine Anwohnerin. Andere berichten  von ohrenbetäubendem Taubengurren in der Fußgängerzone, das von einem kleinen Berg ausgeht. Was um alles inder Welt hat er vor, der Haufen und warum hat er sich gerade Jena ausgesucht?

1998 rumorte es in Jena bereits nächtelang aus einer anderen Garage. Zwei Herren und eine Frau tüftelten an einer Kiste, die sie wenig später nachts vor dem Theater der Stadt abstellten, genau dort, wo wir 20 Jahre später das seltsame Gebäude errichten, halb Abhörstation, halb Doppelgarage. Die Kiste entpuppt sich als Bombe, der ein Zünder fehlt. Als Polizeibeamte 1998 die Garage stürmen, tauchen die Bombenbastler unter, um in den kommenden Jahren gleichsam unter Beobachtung und seltsamer Obhut der Agenten des Verfassungsschutzes deutschlandweit als «Nationalsozialistischer Untergrund» zu morden.

Habbakuk spielt mit Bezügen in deutsche Vorstädte genauso wie mit Verweisen in dessen jüngste Geschichte. Alle Elemente sind gefährlich gewöhnlich, doch agieren sie gegen jede Erwartung und werfen Fragen auf. Was passiert eigentlich in deutschen Kellern und Garagen? Welche Gefahren bürgt das, was uns am nähsten liegt? Wer sorgt heimlich für meine Sicherheit? Vertraue ich diesen Leuten? Militarisiert sich dieses Land? Die hypernormale Architekturlässt die Passanten bewusst im Unklaren.

 

__________________________________________________ ___________

                 

               
                                                  

 


                          
              
                                                                                                                                                                  
         
Draufsicht
    
       Überwachungsstation - Ansicht von Süden   Details: Dachaufbauten (Radar, Lautsprecher, Funkgerät, Oberfläche)       Überwachungsstation - Ansicht von Norden
           Überwachungsstation - Innenansicht      

                            Undercover Operation in den Straßen von Jena

         

 

   
 
     

                                                        Ansichten, Schnitte